Self-confidence is not always a good thing

Very small turn-out at an open tournament today.

I’m doing so-so in the pool – three victories, two defeats, and end up seeded fourth for direct elimination with a bye into 8.

First DE bout. That is, my first DE bout; it’s the second one for my opponent. He’s warm from the first bout, and I have cooled down in the time that passed after the pools. We have fenced each other many times already, the bouts were invariably very tough, but last 2-3 times I got the upper hand. And while I understand that now he has an advantage, and that I really need to concentrate and give this bout everything I got, somewhere deep lurks self-confident feeling that I shouldn’t lose this bout. Well, he fenced much better than me today, and the result is well-deserved – his victory 15:12, I take 6th place out of 12.

Published in: on March 4, 2007 at 11:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fencingblog.wordpress.com/2007/03/04/self-confidence-is-not-always-a-good-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

