Camp

A local club organized a weekend camp – two full days of training, each day ending with a tournament among “campers”.

I really wanted to go there, but was worried about my heel – having just recovered from the injury, it still hurt a little, and I was worried that a full day of fencing practice might be too much. I called the coach, who was organizing the camp, and explained my situation to him – ok, he didn’t see a problem with me picking which parts of the camp program I could do.

Wow, it’s been a while since I had this much exercise … it’s been decades. Both days started with running. The first day we ran to a nearby lake and back; the second day we also ran full circle around the lake, and that made the run about 3 miles. I surprised myself by making it in one piece, and not crawling behind everyone. Many thanks to a very nice girl athlete who gave me encouragement, and ran the final 100 yard burst with me.

The run was just a warm-up. After that, the real practice started …
No issues with the heel. That is, it did hurt, but doctor told me that it’s ok to practice “as long as you can stand the pain”, and I could. But the last time I’ve done this amount of abs exercises was … never!!! This was the part of practice where I did have to stop a few times.

The rest of the practice went better. In individual lessons the coach was correcting me to use a different technique than what my coaches teach. That was a little strange, but ok. I adjusted technique to what he required, and will add it to my repertoire – need to try and see in which situations this is more applicable – it will help both in bouts with my clubmates, and in tournament bouts with this coach’s students.

The end-of-day tournaments went very well:
On Saturday, I won three pool bouts, lost five, won first DE, and lost in semi-final, sharing 3rd place out of 9.
On Sunday, I won six pool bouts, lost two, won two DEs, and lost 15:14 in the final, taking 2nd place out of 9.

Published in: on August 12, 2007 at 11:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fencingblog.wordpress.com/2007/08/12/camp/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

